RSS

D&D 5th Edition Release Update

06 Jul

Things are afoot for Dungeons and Dragons! So I wanted to pop in with a few editorial notes.

Though it may be a rolling release, 5th edition is, as of now, in the hands of the players! If you haven’t gotten a chance to take a look for yourself, the D&D 5th Basic Rules can be downloaded here.

In case you missed the details on Basic, the following sums it up: The most rudimentary rules necessary to run the game (Four most common races, classes, along with iconic class builds, monsters, key rules, etc.) are going to be released for FREE on Wizard’s website as a pdf called “D&D Basic.” At the moment this document only includes information for character creation, though by the end of the year it should be fleshed out with monsters and a slew of DM guidelines. This document will be enough for introducing new players to the game, though it won’t feature nearly the breadth of content that the Player’s Handbook, Monster Manual, and Dungeon Master’s Guide will provide.

Going forward; for the sake of convenience, when I need to reference a page in “the rules,” my preference will be for the Basic document (since it is available to everyone). If I pull a monster or rule from the Monster Manual or other source, I’ll be sure to indicate it along with the page number.

Having looked the document over, I am very pleased with just about everything I have seen! The best changes from the playtest have been carried over, and further tweaks have pushed the game in a good direction (with some unexpected and very cool surprises among class abilities!) A lot of good work went into the playtest and I’m glad to see nearly everything survived.

          ____________________________________________________________________

Also! on the off chance that any readers might find it valuable to their own games, I’m linking to the Obsidian Portal page that will follow the game I’m currently running. I’ve found myself with a large chunk of time with few responsibilities, so I’m attempting to hammer through the entirety of Murder in Baldur’s Gate. The PC game of the (almost) same name is one of my top ten video games of all time, so a tabletop expedition to my favorite part of the Sword Coast (or ANY coast for that matter) was an easy sell. Combined with the adventure’s casual structure and concise sequences, I’m looking forward to running a campaign that might be able to go from start to finish in a reasonable time span while staying satisfying to the players. But we’ll see. Plans and contact with the enemy and all…

       

 
1 Comment

Posted by on July 6, 2014 in Editorial

 

Tags: , , , , , ,

One response to “D&D 5th Edition Release Update

  1. Role Play Craft

    July 8, 2014 at 7:36 PM

    The roll out, for me, has been a lot of fun. I devoured the basic rules and can’t wait to be able to run the starter set.

    That dragon encounter in Thundertree will be… fun… >:)

     

Leave a Reply

 
